Nominate Your Industry's Finest at This Year's HP Awards

The editors of Hydrocarbon Processing are pleased to announce the opening of nominations for the 2021 HP Awards. The Awards program will honor the downstream energy sector's leading technology innovations, as well as outstanding personal contributions to the industry.

To be considered, projects must have been started between January 2020 and December 2020 and fall under one of the award categories.

To submit a nomination, click hereNominations close June 8, 2021.


Categories for Award Nominations:

Automation Technology


Catalyst Technology




Cybersecurity Program/Software


Refining Technology




Petrochemical Technology


Gas Processing/LNG Technology




Flow Control Technology


Best Health, Safety or Environmental Contribution




Instrument Technology


Modeling Technology






AR/VR/AI Advances 




Project/Asset Milestones


Licensor of the Year




EPC of the Year






Asset Monitoring Technology


Consulting Firm of the Year 




Executive of the Year


Lifetime Achievement





Most Promising Engineer 





Gulf Energy Information takes judging of the HP Awards to be a serious matter. In the interest of transparency, the methodology is detailed below:

1. HP Awards 'call for award nominations' is published as an advertisement for three months via the Hydrocarbon Processing website and print publication. E-mail alerts are sent out, as well.

2. The award nominations that are received are sorted into their award category. A staff member passes the sorted category nominations to Hydrocarbon Processing's Editor.

3. The Editor of Hydrocarbon Processing organizes and sends the nominations to a third-party advisory board. This board consists of operating companies, EPCs, licensors, consultants and equipment/service companies. The judging team, independently of each other, read each of the submissions. The criteria for scoring includes:

  • The abstract meets the criteria of the category. For "Lifetime Achievement" and "Most Promising Engineer", self-nominations are not permitted.
  • If the technology, product or initiative falls within the past year. This ensures that the technology is the latest in the industry.
  • How worthy it is of being a finalist, as documented in the nomination (maximum 400 words).

The finalists will also be recognized in the October issue of Hydrocarbon Processing and the winners will be announced via an online awards ceremony held on October 28, 2021. The winners will also be celebrated in the November issue of Hydrocarbon Processing and to Hydrocarbon Processing’s global audience through its e-newsletter, website and social media posts.

To submit a nomination, click hereNominations close June 8, 2021.

From the Archive



{{ error }}
{{ comment.comment.Name }} • {{ comment.timeAgo }}
{{ comment.comment.Text }}